Catch the Moments

I decided to put my insomnia to good use today on this Thanksgiving morning. Was I frantically cooking turkey, stuffing, and mashed potatoes? No. Thankfully my mother-in-law is an excellent cook. I was catching up on my new favorite T.V show, This is Us. It turned out this was the Thanksgiving episode I had recorded a couple days ago. To say it moved me profoundly is an understatement. How a fictional show can portray such real life issues really astounds me. The characters and plot are nothing but perfectly beautiful; whether the scenes are heartwarming or heart wrenching, I’m hooked. Some shows make you laugh. Some shows may you cry. Some shows make you sit in numbness not asking you to feel or think anything at all. But this show is so much more. If you haven’t watched it, I invite you to my home to watch all the episodes recorded on my DVR! This particular episode inspired me to reflect on the beautiful chaos of life and my gratitude for it all.

Thankfulness. It’s what ties us together as humans and fills us with gratitude for all we’ve been blessed with. But it goes beyond that. It fills us with even deeper gratitude for all the sorrows, stress, chaos, and hardships we bared that have molded us into who we are and brought us to where we are today. Without it all, we wouldn’t have our complete story, filled with each chapter of our interesting and unique lives. Each of us has a different story unlike any other. Today I am thankful for it all—the good, the bad, and the ugly, for it’s the blend of it all that has me sitting here reflective and infinitely grateful.

Today I am thankful for my husband. He’s the most stubborn man I think I have ever met. He stands firm in what he believes in, and it takes a miracle to persuade that man or change his mind the slightest. He’s gruff yet soft. He has a kind and generous heart, and it fills his soul to give unexpectedly to those who are least expecting of gifts. He is hard working and reliable, rarely ever missing out on doing something he has promised to do. He likes organization, order, and plans, unlike his somewhat disorganized, forgetful, and spontaneous wife. He is a wonderful father, striving to start traditions with his children they will remember for all their days to come.

Today I am thankful for my daughter. She has inherited her dad’s eyes and lips along with his fierce strong willed nature and persistence. She doesn’t back down when she wants something bad enough, even if this will quickly cause gray hair for her mom and dad. She is fun, loud, vivacious, and the life of the party. She is friendly and warm, introducing herself to new people, asking them to be her friend. She is articulate at the young age of four and never ceases to entertain her parents with her witty one-liners and entertaining questions. She is the best snuggler, and 8:30 pm has become her mom’s absolute favorite part of the day, as that’s when she always wants a “tighter” snuggle.

Today I am thankful for my son. He is our very own toe-headed “Dennis the Menace” with his mischievous grin and ability to get into almost anything, regardless of the best of child-proofing efforts. He is wildly fast and loves all things “boy,” from cars to trucks to “choo choo” trains and airplanes. He loves his dad so much that it sometimes makes his mom jealous until she sits and watches them together, and her heart fills with such joy. He is loving and sensitive, giving slobbery kisses, bear hugs, and saying “wuv you” and “ary” (sorry) when he knows he’s in the wrong. He is our rainbow baby after our angel baby.

Today I am thankful for all my family and friends. The list would be a long and very full to name them all, but I hope each of them knows how much I care and love them, as I try to tell and show them every day.

Today I am thankful for my job and wonderful coworkers. The sense of teamwork is amazing sometimes, and they make me strive to be the best I can be.

Today I am thankful for my health and my family’s health. Life is so precious, and we never really know when our health could fail, so I try to appreciate our breathing lungs and beating hearts.

In This is Us, Olivia asks William, “How does it feel to be dying?” William thinks about it for a moment and poetically responds, “It feels like all these beautiful pieces of life are flying around me, and I’m trying to catch them…when my granddaughter falls asleep in my lap, I try to catch the feeling of her breathing…and when I make my son laugh, I try to catch the sound of him laughing, how it rolls up from his chest. But the pieces are moving faster now, and I can’t catch them all. I can feel them slipping through my fingertips. And soon where there used to be my granddaughter breathing and my son laughing, there will be nothing. I know it feels like you have all the time in the world, but you don’t. So stop playing it so cool. Catch the moments of your life while you’re young and quick because soon you will be old and slow, and there will be no more to catch. And when a nice boy who adores you offers you pie, say thank you.”

Today, my hope for you is that you take some time to catch the beautiful moments and eat that delicious pie.

20161124_080618

Leave a Reply

